Losing Friends Once You’re a Christian

One of the biggest challenges I’ve faced since accepting God into my life is realizing that my friends refuse to. I can seem to live a more fulfilling life and look happier than usual all I want, but they will always see my transition as a temporary solution for the pain I’ve suffered for many years.

And I get that. I know what they are feeling because I’ve been there, too. When I was an Agnostic, I saw Christians as people who just wanted a distraction from the constant heartache that came with life. Every time something bad happened to them, you’d find them at a church… seeking God and an answer to all their troubles. It just felt like one big fat lie.

I don’t believe that anymore. I mean, yes, Jesus has overcome the world and knows our pain so we can go to Him when we can’t feel anything else. However, I don’t believe that this is the reason why we are Christians. I’m learning to love more, I’m learning to forgive, I’m learning about outreach and serving, I’m learning how to trust in God with my finances… My life has completely changed because I said “Yes” to a relationship with Him. God has been working in my heart and changing the way I view everything so that I can be His hands and feet.

While my friends are happy for me, I’ve noticed them creating a distance from me. It could be because I’m at my church on the weekends now instead of the bars with them. It could be that I like to wear a cross necklace and it makes them feel restricted or uncomfortable. It could also be that my demeanor has changed and I use less foul language. I don’t know…

What I do know is that I still love them and I won’t give up on them. I still invite them to church with me. I am still there for their celebrations and also when they feel pain. I am still their friend.

“For though I am free from all men, I have made myself a servant to all, that I might win the more.” — 1 Corinthians 9:19 NKJV

While I pray for my friends who have not accepted God into their lives and I pray that they find the answers to their doubts just as I have, I found myself asking for God to help me through this lonely time in my life. I wanted Him to help me make new friendships that will help me grow in my faith, not lose it.

Over the past few months, I’ve gained friendships at work, at church, in my bible study group, and even a closer relationship with my siblings (sister is the left one in the photo with my brother in the middle). My new friends have honestly been helping me to grow spiritually. We go to church together, we do bible studies together, we talk about our troubles together, we do devotionals together, and next week we are going to Michael Jr.’s comedy show at church together!

I am so thankful for these people in my life now. God has blessed me with great friends and family! They keep me going and keep me from falling apart. They are the friends that will stop whatever they are doing to make sure you don’t lose faith.

When I asked God for friendship, I had no idea that He would bless me this way.

I just want anyone who is struggling with friendships to know that God has your back always. He knows your pain and He has a plan to help you through this. Sometimes it feels like you’re alone, but you’re not. Keep praying and surrounding yourself with people who want the best for you and see what God does.

Just trust in Him.

(Psalms 33:4)

 

13 thoughts on “Losing Friends Once You’re a Christian

  1. I have a brother who refuses to understand my relationship with the Lord. Though he still talks to me and invites me to his home (I will not go there as it is a den of vipers), he does not want to be seen with me in public. It is a given you will lose friends and perhaps family along the way in your journey with Christ, but He will give you new friends and new family to lift you up when you need them. Just keep praying for the lost that they will soon know Jesus. And praise God for the gift of fellowship with fellow believers.

    Keep on keeping on. You are doing a good thing glorifying God. He will complete His good work in you until the day of Christ Jesus! ~~ Philippians 1:6

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Liz, I am so sorry to hear that about your brother. I am praying for him… You just reminded me of how I was the one in my family who wanted nothing to do with Christianity and that hurt my family so much. I am so thankful that I am finally understanding what it means to be a Christian. I am also thankful for you being in my life as well, Liz!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 😊 Awww, thank you! You are so sweet.

        It is indeed sad. My other two brothers are Christians. My younger brother introduced me to the faith more fully than anybody else. My oldest was an elder at his church in Florida.

        Though my brother does not want to hear about my faith or Jesus, all I can really do is lead by example and pray for him. Thank for sending out prayers for him.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. My younger brother just graduated from a Christian College here in Florida called Southeastern University so that he can work in ministry. He’s the person I go to when I have questions about my faith! You are definitely right that all we can do is lead by example. I think somehow people who are lost will be curious because of all the love that will rub off on them too! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment